Information on Churches

In the book “Illustrated History of Nebraska” Vol. 2 copyrighted in 1906 is a large section on various church denominations.  The ones that were found will be shown below. The order of the listing will be denomination, contributor name and position and the city shown for them.

Baptist Church, Rev. Austin W. Clark, Baptist Church Historian  for Nebraska and Corresponding Secretary, National Conference of Charities and Corrections, Omaha, Nebraska

Catholic Church — Omaha Diocese, Rev. Patrick F. McCarthy, Omaha, Nebraska

Catholic Church — Lincoln Diocese, Rev. Michael A. Shine, Rector of St. Theresa’s Pro-Cathedral, Lincoln, Nebraska

Christian Church, Willis A. Baldwin, Corresponding Secretary, Nebraska Christian Missionary Society, Lincoln, Nebraska

Congregational Church, Rev. Harmon Bross, D.D., Superintendent of Congregational Home Missions for Nebraska, and Department Commander of the Grand Army of the Republic

Episcopal Church, Hon. James M. Woolworth, Chancellor of the Episcopal Diocese of Nebraska, Omaha, Nebraska

Lutheran Church, Luther M. Kuhn, D.D., Secretary Luther League of America, Omaha, Nebraska

Methodist Episcopal Church, Rev. David Marquette, D.D., Corresponding Secretary State Methodist Historical Society, Omaha, Nebraska