Madison, NE. school

Schoolmates Hold Fifteenth Annual Picnic On Sunday

The fifteenth annual picnic of old schoolmates of the Madison school of 1870 to 1895 was held last Sunday at the Hoyt Osborn home in East Emerick. Mrs. A. K. Robinson of Newman Grove was elected president and Mrs. Hoyt Osborn of Meadow Grove was named secretary-treasurer.

Those present included: Mr. and Mrs. A. K. Robinson, Newman Grove; Mr. and Mrs. Hoyt Osborn, Mr. and Mrs. C. A. Adams, and Mr. and Mrs. W. W. Upton, all of Meadow Grove; Mrs. Alice Stevenson, Broken Bow; Mr. and Mrs. Henry Fricke, Pender; Mr. and Mrs. Oliver Hosford, Albion.

Mr. and Mrs. M. B. Foster, Mr. and Mrs. Ed Neidig, Mr. and Mrs. Fred H. Davis, Mr. and Mrs. C. S. Snyder, Mr. and Mrs. Ira Chittenden, Mrs. Nellie V. Yeazel, and Mrs. Gussie Wright, all of Madison.

Mrs. Grace Osborn and Miss Abbie Thomas, both of Battle Creek; Mr. and Mrs. Wager and daughter, Nona, Newman Grove; Virgil Bickley, Green Garden; and Miss Ava Osborn, Meadow Grove, who was co-hostess with her mother, Mrs. Hoyt Osborn.

Source: Madison Star-Mail, Thursday, September 9, 1937, page 4.

Dry Hollow School

Can You Beat This?

Miss Izola Higbee has been appointed teacher of the Dry Hollow school, north of Battle Creek, for the ensuing year.  Her mother, Mrs. Audrey Higbee, taught this school, her grandmother, Mrs. Martha Cloyd, her great aunt, Mrs. Olive Cloyd and her aunt, Miss Cora Cloyd, were all teachers of this school.

It looks as tho the Cloyd family and their descendants have a mortgage on this school.  We see no reason why they should not have one.  They all made good, and we feel sure that Izola will be a worthy successor of those who blazed the trail.

Source:  Meadow Grove News, Thursday July 12, 1928, page 1.